Yarn Harlot

Today, I was able to take the day and travel to Atlanta to see the Yarn Harlot. I read her blog pretty regularly, but I only just read her last book, Casts Off, while I was on spring break (I borrowed Katy‘s copy). It was super funny. So I bought her latest book, Things I Learned From Knitting (Whether I Wanted To or Not) , recently, and it’s been a hilarious blast. I’m about half way done with it, and enjoying every word.

So back to the trip. Lisa and I left at 8:30 am for Atlanta, and we got there at 11:30 or so, just in time for a delicious brunch at Murphy’s. Their eggs benedict is to kill for, but I went with the version with spinach and mushrooms on a foccacia instead of the traditional one. Super delicious. Lisa got the French Toast, and while I didn’t try it, it looked to be about the most delicious French Toast ever (I was a little caught up with my eggs benedict). Then we had mimosas… delicious mimosas. Something about their mimosas make them better than other mimosas. No idea what it is. Just awesome.

Ok, enough food rambling. After brunch, we got in the GIANT line to get in to see the Yarn Harlot. There must have been 700 people there, it was incredible. As we walked along the line to find the back, people kept commenting “Oh I love your sweater” “What pattern is it?” etc. I love knitters! Mostly, this was directed to Lisa, who’s wearing the most awesome cardigan made from some super cool Cherry Tree Hill yarn. She just winged it – top down raglan style. It was incredible. I was wearing my Isabella – cool, but just not nearly as cool as Lisa’s was.

We stood in line probably for 20 minutes, but of course, no one was impatient because we all had our knitting. I had my monkey socks with me, and the pattern is pretty easy to remember, so I didn’t even need my chart all the time. People were commenting on each other’s patterns, shawls, socks, sweaters – you name it. I got some kudos for doing 2 socks at once on magic loop. I never thought it was that hard, but apparently it’s pretty impressive :). That’s kind of cool.

Oh, and we got free wool wash while standing in line – cool, eh?

Several muggles walked by and was like, WTF? What is with this giant line of people trying to get into Ben & Jerry’s. Here’s the trick, the theater where we saw the Yarn Harlot is behind Ben & Jerry’s with no visible sign (or a separate door). I bet it looked pretty funny having 600 people line up with their socks in progress trying to get into Ben & Jerry’s. hehe. Of course, they were probably equally, if not more, baffled by us knitting. I mean, who in their decent mind would be knitting at noon on Sunday in a giant queue?

Once we got in, we had about 2 hours to just knit and chat. Knitch did a pretty awesome raffle with really good prizes. If I had cash on me, I would have totally bought some tickets (they were donations to Knitters Without Borders anyway – a good cause). Seriously, someone got a $300 skein of yarn. I’m still trying to figure out what the heck that’s made of.

Then the Yarn Harlot spoke.
IMG_7663
I’ve never laughed so hard in an hours worth of time. She is about to so accurately reflect society, but in the most humorous way possible. It’s much, much better than I could ever repeat it at, so I’m not even going to try. Her blog and her books come pretty darn close to seeing her in person, but there’s nothing quite like being in a room with 700 knitters listening to her speak about knitting, all the while knitting on my socks. I think I cried about 5 times from laughing so hard.

It was also pretty amusing to hear someone dropping a dpn every 5 minutes or so. We’re a coordinated bunch, no?

After her speech, people had a chance to ask her some questions. It was such a nice and jovial atmosphere – almost like a conversation. She’s so nice and down to earth that sometimes, I forget I’m not acutally just sitting their talking to her. It’s awesome.

So after all that, we went back to Knitch to browse. The store is absolutely amazing. Yarns in all colors from top to bottom. In all amazing fibers. There’s quite a few cashmeres that I’m surprised didn’t jump in my bag to come home with me. I did end up with this though. 2 oz of camel down. RIDICULOUSLY soft. It’ll be interesting to see how well I can spin it. Current plan is to make it into lace weight and knit Wisp – since Knitch had a really nice sample knit in 100% cashmere, and I really preferred that to the Kid Mohair that the pattern is designed for. Problem is, I don’t want to spend $50 on cashmere, and the camel was only $6 for the same amount. Let’s see what I can do! They fall into the same fiber category, so surely, it can be done. Now, my spinning skills…

So after the yummy yarn shopping, we got in line to do the book signing. The Yarn Harlot is super wonderful. She takes time to talk to everyone, and takes care to sign her entire name instead of just initials like some other celebrities would do. And she has a long name. (Refer to this blog post of hers). I even got to take a picture of her while she’s signing my book. Yay!

IMG_7725

So after the book signing, or mission for today was basically accomplished. We had dinner at Neighbor’s (Shrimp Caesar Salad) and drove home. Here I am blogging. It was a good day.

April 7, 2008. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Dana replied:

    How funny- I’m one of the people who commented on Lisa’s cardigan, and you can see the back of my head in your pic of her speaking! Hope you had as good a time as I did! 🙂

  2. katyjane replied:

    Thanks for the book! Glad you had such a good time. I’m totally jealous though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

