More Yarn Love

More yarn love:
IMG_6719

I bought 2 pounds of the Highland Tweeds yarn from WEBS when it was on closeout for like $12 a pound. It comes in cones in spinning oil, so I’ve been skeining and washing it. It’s been through the wash 10 times, but the water is still coming out like this:
IMG_6829

I’m going to wash it next with some vinegar. Hopefully, this will set the color and soften the yarn a bit (I heard that vinegar smooths the scales in the wool.. hmm…).

Even though it’s not completely finished being washed, look at the difference in the before and after washing picture! (Before = right, After = left)
IMG_7099

I love how it bloomed and takes on a softer texture. I’ll have to swatch it and see how it behaves.

Next goal after washing it all? Dyeing it. I’m not sure I’m a big fan of this yellow color. Maybe I’ll dye it with blue to make a green. Or a purple to make a brownish color.

February 17, 2008. Tags: , , , , . Yarn.

2 Comments

  1. wildwool replied:

    Hi! I saw your post about spinning, and I was wondering where you bought the materials. I would like to try spinning (with a drop spindle) and I thought you might have a recommendation.

    Thanks,
    Wildwool (www.wildwool.wordpress.com )

  2. Beata replied:

    Hey! Spinning is so much fun! I hope you try it and enjoy it! I’ve made my own spindles, usually out of toy wheels and dowels. They’re pretty cheap and easy to find on Etsy or other spinning websites. I’ve ordered from woolworks.com (my wheel and fiber) and they were great. I’ve also heard that helloyarn.com and spunkyhats.com are great as well. They both sell spindles and great fiber, although I haven’t bought from them personally. Good luck searching!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

