Another Baby Cardi

So here is the second of the baby clothes that I’m knitting. This was made specifically to go with a Christmas dress that baby received.

IMG_6453 IMG_6452

Pattern: Mossy Jacket
Yarn: Knit Picks Crayon, double-stranded
Needles: KP Options size 9
Size: approximately 22″ around the chest
Gauge: 3.5 sts / inch

I modified the pattern to make the opening centered with buttons going all the way. It is turned inside out to give it a reverse stockinette stitch. The mom wanted the nubbly texture, and reverse stockinette featured the boucle texture much better. The bottom 5 buttons are generic maroon colored buttons. The top one is a jeweled, super-sparkly one. I really like how it looks almost like a brooch.

I started knitting this on Thanksgiving day. It’s a quick knit because of the gauge, and also because I’ve made the pattern before. Finished on 12/10, and took 4 more days to go shop for buttons and tack it on.

The yarn is wonderfully soft! I might make a bath mitt or something with my leftovers. It’s a 100% Pima Cotton boucle texture yarn. Cheap too. It took approx 3.5 balls for this cardigan. Not bad.

(Oh wait – I’m supposed to make baby mitts & bootees… gotta remember that!)

I didn’t have nearly as much trouble with the sleeve join this time around.  Instead of picking up one stitch, I picked up 3 stitches so that it has a smoother underarm join.  I reduced the decrease from every 4 rows to every 3 rows and it worked out pretty well.  Of course, maybe it’s just the boucle texture hiding my mistakes, but that’s fine by me.

December 18, 2007. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

