Foliage Hat

I made this hat to go with My So-Called Scarf. It’s out of the same yarn (Manos wool) but in a solid color.

IMG_6445 IMG_6444

(excuse the hideousness – it’s exam time which means jeans and t-shirt time)

Pattern: Foliage
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay Wool, Color 57
Needles: KP Options size 10 for body, 8 for ribbing, 11 for bind-off
Size: Chunky

This was such a quick knit and wonderful pattern! I love charts, and there was a lot of charts and minimal directions (although directions in words are provided for those who don’t like charts). The lace pattern was just relaxing enough, but still engaging. The ribbing was a little boring at the end, but I was able to do it at SnB using the continental method, which meant I got to practice something new, chit-chat, and get it done without much dreading. I finished this in just one week – in the middle of finals too! Needless to say, I loved knitting this hat.

On another note, I blocked the My So-Called Scarf to be much longer and slightly air-ier. The result is nice and soft and drapey. I love it more now than even before. I’ve never blocked a hat so I’ll have to figure out how. Maybe I can get this one to open up a little too.

I now have half a ball of this yarn left… can’t decide if I’m going to add fringe to My So-Called Scarf with it or not. I think if I do, it’ll tie the two colors together better (it doesn’t really show in the pictures, but they’re ever so slightly off). But I’m not sure if I want fringe… decisions…decisions…

Now I just need some mittens to finish up this set of hat & scarf. I can’t imagine doing mittens in Manos though, so off to the LYS I go (tomorrow… after finals…)

December 6, 2007. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. wickedknits replied:

    Wow! That’s really pretty. Isn’t that from knitty.com ?

  2. Beata replied:

    Yup! It’s from the Fall Knitty. I fixed the link in the post so now it goes to the correct pattern.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

