My So-Called Scarf

So I joined the My-So Called Scarf craze. I never really intended on knitting it, since I didn’t think it looked that good. However, it was about the only pattern I liked for a scarf out of Manos, so I decided to try it anyway. As it turns out, it looks way better in person than in a photo. I’m quite happy with it!.

IMG_6423 IMG_6425

Pattern: My So-Called Scarf
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay Wool, Color 118
Needles: KP Options size 11
Size: 20 stitches wide

This was such a quick knit! I bought the yarn on Black Friday and started it that weekend, and I finished it just now. It’s really quick to memorize and a very enjoyable stitch pattern. I made it a bit narrower since I plan on wearing it doubled-up. I used up one entire skein of yarn (with about a 3/4 in. tail at the end!) and it’s just a tad shorter than I like. I’m going to block it to be longer, since that’ll also give it a more drapey feel.

The yarn is scratchier than I like, but maybe it’ll soften up after washing. As it is, it itches my neck a little. Maybe washing & blocking will help?

I still need to weave in the ends and block it, but right now I’m obsessed with the hat I’m knitting to match.  We’ll see when it gets truly and completely done.

December 2, 2007. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Thanksgiving in DC « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] Manos quickly turned into a My So-Called Scarf. I started it immediately that day and it was done pretty […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

