Baby Cardi

I’m going on a baby knitting spree in the next few months. My friend wanted some sweaters for her baby for this coming winter, so I agreed to knit her some. Here’s the first finished project:

IMG_6419 IMG_6420

It’s currently being modeled by my teddy bear since I haven’t given it to mom and baby yet, but when I do, I’ll try to snap a better picture of it being modeled.

Pattern: Mossy Jacket
Yarn: Lion Brand Microspun and Tiffany, double-stranded
Needles: KP Options size 10
Size: approximately 20″ around the chest
Gauge: 3.5 sts / inch

I really like the way it turned out, especially the fur trim around the edge. It was a super quick knit since I double-stranded the yarn. It’s really soft too. I’m not sure how warm it is, but I guess we’ll find out. I used Tiffany to trim the cuffs, collar, and the bottom edge. The button band is knit in the main yarn so I could get the button holes cleanly.

I had some small troubles with the armpit section. I think there is either an error in the pattern or I’m just stupid. I didn’t get the right number of stitches in the sleeves, so that probably contributed to why the sleeve and the body didn’t join quite right in that area. I went in after the sweater was done and just sewed it up. It’s not completely smooth but looks OK. It feels fine too, just not quite as seamless and smooth as it could have been.

November 28, 2007. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Lisa replied:

    That turned out so cute!
    I had the same trouble with the armpit section and had to do very much what you did… wrong number of stitches and some oddness and a little more open than I’d have liked.
    I may have to use the fur around the cuffs like you did… it just looks so soft and cuddly.

  2. Beata replied:

    It’s good to know it wasn’t just me.

    The fur is indeed cuddly. If you want white fur, I have almost an entire ball left of the Lion Brand Tiffany stuff. Let me know and you can have it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

