Mother’s Day Tea Cozy


Pattern: Kureyon Cozy (small version 1) from Knitty.
Yarn: Sugar ‘n’ Cream in Cool Breeze, 2 oz/95 yd balls, ~1.25 balls
Needles: Size 7 Denise
Gauge: 20 sts/4 in.

My mom has a really pretty glass teapot, but the problem with glass is that it dissipates heat really quickly, so I decided to make her a tea cozy for mother’s day. I had purchased some Sugar ‘n’ Cream yarn on a huge sale that match my mom’s kitchen, so I decided to knit the cozy up with it. I guess I didn’t really consider the fact that cotton doesn’t insulate near as much as wool, so probably this won’t be a very efficient cozy. At least it looks pretty, plus it can still act as a hot pad because of the double thick bottom.

I gave this to my mom for mother’s day along with an assortment of Chinese teas. The teapot in the picture is my teapot, not my mom’s nice glass one, but it’ll have to do. Eventually I’ll make a cozy for myself too.

June 3, 2007. Knitting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

