Baby Kimono and Bonnet

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Pattern: Baby Kimono from Mason-Dixon Knitting, Top-Down Bonnet from Hello Yarn
Yarn: Sugar ‘n’ Cream in Cornflower Blue, 2.5 oz/120 yd balls, 2 balls
Needles: Denise size 5
Gauge: 20 sts/4 in. in stockinette
Notes: Used stockinette stitch instead of garter. Outlined all edges in garter stitch, which created a nice rib on the cuffs. Used yo increase for neckline. Chained a long string instead of using ribbon as the tie to secure the sides of the kimono.

I made this for one for the same baby girl that I made the baby hat and sweater set for. She was born premature, and even now at almost 3 months, she’s still teeny tiny. It’s hard to find clothes for her that fit, so I made a sweater and a bonnet.

These two things are just so cute! I love them both. The yarn was really rough to work with, and I had to yank at the hard and go down many needles sizes to get gauge. After a while, my fingers got really tired.  The yarn is made for utility things like dishcloths and rugs, but I really liked how it turned out.  It definitely feels a little bit like a dishcloth, but for a baby, I’m not convinced that’s bad.  It’ll be absorbent for the times that she decides to leak out of her diaper :).

The pattern is written very flexibly, so I got my first chance at “designing” a sweater. Truthfully, adding a garter stitch edge to a stockinette piece isn’t much designing, but making it up and changing it as it went was really quite fun.

June 3, 2007. Knitting.

3 Comments

  1. wickedknits replied:

    How cute!

  2. Baby Socks « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] Jump to Comments My friend who recently had a baby girl, the same one that I made the Baby Kimono & Bonnet and Baby Hat for, commissioned some baby socks. I happily obliged, since I’ve been dying to […]

  3. Baby Socks « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] friend who recently had a baby girl, the same one that I made the Baby Kimono & Bonnet and Baby Hat for, commissioned some baby socks. I happily obliged, since I’ve been dying to […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

