Yarn Dyeing

After reading that Kool-Aid will dye yarn, I’ve been wanting to try it out ever since.  It seems harmless enough – I do drink that stuff afterall.  I had a ball of Patons Classic Merino Wool in Aran in my stash, so I went to the grocery store and got some supplies.

Here’s what came out of the microwave:

I actually used Disney Cool Splashers instead of Kool-Aid because it was on sale.  I used one packet of Strawberry, one packet of grape, and two packets of Black Cherry.  The black cherry is kind of hidden behind the grape in the picture, so you can’t see it very well.

The dyeing went really easily.  I unwound the yarn into a hank and tied it to keep it from getting tangled.  I mixed the kool-aid in 3 cups, dunked the yarn into it, and stuck it into the microwave.  After about 10 minutes of microwave time (at 2 minutes on, 2 minutes off), it came out just like that.

I was really afraid of the wool felting in the process, since it wasn’t superwash.  It didn’t while it was dyeing.  Unfortunately, when I rinsed it out, apparently I had agitated it too much so it started felting a little bit.  Once I noticed though, I stopped and was able to rescue it as I wound it into a ball.  Here’s my finished product:

I’m calling the color Sari, because that’s what it reminds me of.  Eventually I’ll make some socks from it, but for now, it’s sitting prettily in my stash.

April 15, 2007. Yarn.

One Comment

  1. katyjane replied:

    Oh! That’s so pretty! I love it!

    I should try it…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

