Yorick Finished

I finished Yorick a while ago, but just haven’t had a chance to blog about it. Anyhow, here’s a picture of the FO:

Yarn: Patons Classic Merino Wool – 1 skein
Gauge: 18 sts x 24 rows = 4″ in stockinette (pre-felting)
Needle: Size 8 Denise
Pattern: Yorick from Knitty

I had a lot of fun knitting this, as it was super easy after the skull. I knitted both skulls from two ends of the skein, then I put it together on one needle to knit them up at the same time. It was a great way to avoid second-sock syndrome. Once that was done, it was joined in the middle with the kitchener stitch. It was my first try at the kitchener stitch, but it came out perfectly. No seams – it’s like magic!

It was also my first attempt at felting and I was surprised at how easy it was. Here’s a picture of the scarf unfelted:

I took this and attempted to hand felt it in the bathroom sink like I did with the swatch. It looks creepy all floating in the sink!

That didn’t really work though, so eventually, I gave up and took it to a washing machine. I put it in a mesh bag, set the machine on hot and just left it. It worked beautifully and I’m so happy with it.

All in all – I’m really glad I made this. I don’t think I really like felted things too much, so maybe I won’t knit felted projects a lot. I’m definitely happy that I learned how to do it though.

April 9, 2007. Knitting.

One Comment

  1. geckogrrl replied:

    What a cool scarf! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

