New Yarn for Isabella

I had bought a bunch of Bernat baby yarn for Isabella, then I decided that I really hated the color and took it all back. I still really wanted to knit it, but fingering weight yarn is near impossible to find locally. I’ve been wanting to try out Knit Picks too, so I went for it.

My bag came in the mail a couple of days ago. I got some Crayon in Brick and Palette in Apricot. The colors are definitely a little off from the website, but I actually like the real colors even better than the colors on the web, so it worked out for me.

The Palette is for Isabella and the Crayon is for these shorts that I plan on modifying to be ballet shorts (the waist will just be shorter).

I was so excited to get the bag that I couldn’t wait to get started. I started gauging the Palette for Isabella. I used my size 5 Denise, even though that’s way bigger than what the pattern called for, I usually knit so tight that I have to go up 2-3 sizes anyway so I figured it might work. The gauge wasn’t even close! I was going to just go with it anyway and knit a size down (so it’d be the right size) but then the fabric would be too thin and you’d be able to see through it. I gave up and finally went to the store and got some size 3 & 4 circulars. The only ones they had were metal Susan Bates, so I went for them even though I usually prefer bamboo. I ended up really liking them, but they’re so slick that my gauge got loose, so the size 3s are still a little too big. It got close enough though (only 1/2 stitch too big) so I think I’ll go with it.

So today is my first day of starting Isabella. Let’s see how long it’ll take me to knit up a whole sweater using fingering weight yarn!

March 30, 2007. Knitting, Yarn.

2 Comments

  1. Heather replied:

    I find my gauge is a little looser with metal needles too. I really like KnitPicks circulars. I have them in size 1 and 3, they are sooo nice! The cord is so flexible and easy to work with (especially doing magic loop).

  2. Bee replied:

    I thought about getting the KnitPicks circulars. I’ve heard such good things about them. I was too impatient to wait for shipping though 🙂 so I just went to JoAnn’s and bought my circulars.

    I don’t have any KnitPicks needles, but these Susan Bates are really nice too – very light and the cord is so thin and flexible that I almost don’t notice it’s there. Now I just want to see what all the hype about Addi’s is about.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

