Photo (or Yarn) Album

I had been a little frustrated recently about working gauge swatches. I don’t usually like working them to begin with, but I especially don’t like to rework them. Like when I made the baby hat. It was made of the same yarn as the baby sweater set, but I didn’t keep my swatch so I had to re-swatch it to make sure I get gauge. That was pretty irritating.

But I think I came up with a solution – a yarn album!

OK – I know a lot of people keep knitting journals and all, and keep their gauge swatches with notes on the patterns and all that, so I know this isn’t an original idea by any chance, but it was definitely a revelation for me. My mother-in-law had given me a beautiful photo album for Christmas, but I had no idea what I would do with it since I don’t really print pictures out (I probably should, and maybe she was hinting at something, but I simply don’t have the time or the desire to have it all printed out and organized). I got it out today and decided it would be perfect for me to put my old yarn swatches with notes in there (and maybe even old patterns with notes too, although I haven’t decided yet).

Check it out! I’m loving it.

I simply jot down all my notes about that particular swatch on a 3×5 note card and slip that up top, with the gauge on the bottom. Theoretically, I could just scribble the notes on the side writing area, but I always had this thing against writing in books, and that apparently carried over to photo albums.

Anyhow, I like this solution for now. The front of the album has a little frame slot – maybe I’ll make a collage of my yarn stash or something 🙂

March 23, 2007. Knitting, Tools, Yarn.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

