Vestee

In a whirlwind knit, I finished this in 3 days!

It’s Vestee from the Spring 2007 Knitty. I saw it and immediately thought it was perfect for my lil’ nephew, so I decided to knit it for his birthday. There wasn’t much time, but the pattern was clear and so much fun to knit that I got through it in 3 days.

I used Lion Brand Wool-Ease in blue heather. I couldn’t imagine hand-washing a toddler’s clothes, so I picked this yarn because it’s machine washable and dryable.

I really liked the garter rib that the sweater was knitted in. It provides really good stretch – even better than a regular rib pattern. There wasn’t much seaming either because the top half is mostly knitted in the round. Plus it’s just a toddler sweater, so it isn’t big to begin with.

I am going to have to take a few days break from knitting though. Making this in 3 days definitely wore me out a little. After I finish up the Shrug that I’ve been working on, I’ll probably start up Isabella. I bought a bunch of Bernat Baby yarn in baby green for it a few days ago (Yay for sales at A.C. Moore). I also had to buy size 3 circulars because my Denise doesn’t go down that small :(. The gauge is quite intimidating, but I’m determined to conquer it, even if I never ever knit that small again.

March 17, 2007. Knitting, Yarn.

3 Comments

  1. Heather replied:

    Love the vestee!! So cute!

    I want to make Isabella too….someday when I get through my large lists of “to knits” lol.

  2. Marjorie Brigham replied:

    I’m glad you were successful with my pattern. Some Knitty readers reported a mistake in the yoke directions. Let me know if you would like a copy of the revised pattern.

    Regards,

    Marjorie

  3. Baby Socks « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] I’ve been dying to knit socks anyway. I used some Lion Brand Wool-Ease leftover from the Vestee that I made, plus some variegated vintage yarn that I stole from said friend’s basement (her […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

