Ball Winder

I had a bunch of leftover yarn just sitting in my yarn tote, all unwieldy and tangled. I was realy getting fed up with it. I wanted to wind them all up into balls, but if I had done it by hand, it would have taken a century. At the same time, I didn’t really want to buy a ball winder and have to find a place to keep it. After researching online, I discovered this solution:


My drill ballwinder! Who says chicks can’t use powertools?

I put a regular pencil in where the drill bit usually goes and set the torque onto the lowest sitting. I made a slipknot on one end and wound just a little bit of yarn spiraling up the pencil. Then I just pushed the trigger and started winding. I tried to keep the slipknot out, so I can easily pull on it later to make it a center-pull ball. It works fantastically!

I’ve read in other places where people have used mixers or other things as yarn ball winders. I prefer my drill for several reasons:

1. I can easily control the speed it’s going depending on how much I’m pressing on the trigger
2. The low torque setting means that it stops winding automatically when I come to a knot.
3. I feel like a badass using a power tool 🙂

I ended up winding a bunch of balls just because I could. Now my yarn tote is clean! Woohoo!

February 25, 2007. Knitting, Tools, Yarn.

5 Comments

  1. katyjane replied:

    hahaha! That’s awesome!

    We don’t have any power tools… but if we did, you can bet that I’d have some new center pull balls!

  2. laura jesser replied:

    Beata, I’m so impressed! I don’t have the patience to learn to knit–right now. Hopefully one day… I am envious of all your homemade scarves and hats and bags and such though–I wish I could do that!

  3. Kat replied:

    Isn’t it always the simple ideas that are most useful? I’m going to have to get the drill out and clean up my stash now!

  4. Frogging...in a good way « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] didn’t have a swift or ball winder (except for my drill ballwinder) to use to unravel the yarn, and I didn’t really have the money to buy one. Finally, I found […]

  5. Frogging…in a good way « A Book and Some Yarn replied:

    […] didn’t have a swift or ball winder (except for my drill ballwinder) to use to unravel the yarn, and I didn’t really have the money to buy one. Finally, I found […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

